Citizens have released their self-titled debut album; it is the first full album released from Mars Hill Music.  Citizens strongly resembles Need to Breathe in sound and style.  It is a practical, down-to-earth worship album, where the lyrics are not over-spiritualized or deeply theological.  They simply express basic Biblical truths.


There is a mix of original songs written by the group, and also some traditional hymns that make an appearance.  “I Surrender All” was particularly well done.  While this is typically done as a mellow song, Citizens gives it a little edge.  It begins with a ballad-like feel, then builds into a powerful, modern rendition of this classic hymn.


Overall, the song selection and arrangement were very well done.  There are several vivacious songs which engage you in the album, and even make you want to sing at the top of your lungs with them.  Yet, there are others that cause you to quiet yourself and have a time of self-reflection (like “Oh God”). “Oh God” was probably one of my favorite songs in the entire track listing.  Musically, it is very well done; Citizens mastered the transition from a serene intro to a song which culminates in a dramatic ending, leaving you wanting more.  I wish this song would have been put somewhere in the middle of the album, because I seriously wanted the album to keep going after hearing it.


This group is off to a strong start, and I am excited to see where they go in the future.















Record Label: Mars Hill Music / Tooth & Nail Records

Album length: 11 tracks: 48 minutes 36 seconds

Street Date: March 12, 2013

Buy It: iTunes

Buy It: AmazonMP3

Buy It:


  1. Sweetness of Freedom (3:19)
  2. In Tenderness (4:02)
  3. Hail the King (3:45)
  4. Made Alive (3:25)
  5. I Am Living in a Land of Death (6:20)
  6. Jesus! (3:49)
  7. I Surrender All (6:05)
  8. Sins of My Youth (3:46)
  9. Psalm 18 (4:18)
  10. Praise to the Lord (3:58)
  11. Oh God (5:49)

Rawkzilla Star 3.5I give this album 3.5/5 stars

Meghon Baker